feed your soul

as the summer comes to a close, you owe it to yourself to wake up early one of these mornings, and experience the beauty around you.

recently i have embraced my past love of yoga, and when possible, begin each day with a practice, regardless of length or time.

not only is it a powerful and invigorating way to start the day, but since my apartment overlooks the hudson river (i know, so lucky!), it is also very beautiful.

i open my windows, i lay down my yoga mat, and i stare out into the sunshine (most of the the time). who could ask for a better way to start each day, then with the ability to appreciate beauty and feel emotional and physical strength? i certainly can’t.

when i was at my family’s summer house a few weekends ago, i took my practice outdoors, to a terrace overlooking the ocean. not only was the setting humbling, but so was its effect on me, and for the first time ever, i was able to tap into a somewhat-meditative state (i still have a lot of work to do). it was pretty powerful! and i definitely felt very impressed with myself afterwards.

Screen shot 2014-08-28 at 8.06.10 AM

so next time you wake up before your alarm, do yourself a favor; open a window, go for a walk, stand in your backyard, go to your roof and appreciate the nature around you. let it nourish you, and feed your soul.

breakfast will never taste the same again…

10307204_10202384391066290_6924139843326927107_n
rooftop breakfast with my favorite @goop quinoa granola with cinnamon and blueberries and black coffee

Leave a comment